First things first, LSDj insn’t a drug, it’s the most popular piece of software used to make chiptune, a genre of music made on games consoles. Most commonly used is the Gameboy, due to its portability and convenience, but other consoles are successfully used, such as PSPs or Ataris.
I was introduced to chiptune two months ago by a friend of mine, who appeared on Gameface radio show on Fab Radio International (http://gameface.podomatic.com and http://www.mixcloud.com/gamefaceshow have podcasts of old episodes). Gameface is based in my hometown of Manchester and focuses on chiptune and gaming. They often have guest appearances of artists and game developers, and have recently released a tutorial on LSDj, downloadable via https://t.co/4tEZJSZ0p8 as created by AuracleDMG.

Auracle's Gameboy
Chiptune, as earlier mentioned, is most commonly made on Gameboys using software such as LSDj, with many of them being modded and personalised to allow the artists more freedom. LSDj itself is straightforward to use, but difficult to initially get your head around. You don’t even need a Gameboy, if you follow Auracle’s link, you can download an emulator for your computer.
I am by no means an expert in this; I’m barely a novice, but if I can understand the basics of LSDj then anybody can. And if you do decide to get started in making chiptune, then any questions can be directed to @AuracleDMG or ask.fm/AuracleDMG
I would highly recommend at least listening to some chiptune, you’d be amazed at the things people can make on consoles older than I am. When I first heard of the genre I was sceptical, but once I started listening to it, really listening to the melodies and bass and the ways it all comes together, I was awestruck. I can no longer look at a Gameboy as simply a games console, I’m constantly being amazed by the community of chiptune – because it is a community, everyone’s so welcoming.
So, go forth and listen.
And tell them Corvo Lavender sent you 😉

